We have all seen the horrible accidents caused by teens texting and driving. It is heartbreaking and preventable. In a survey by AT&T, almost half of adults admitted to texting while driving. About 49% of adults say they've sent a text while behind the wheel, compared with 43% of teens in a survey from April of 2013.
The survey and report is part of AT&T's "It Can Wait" campaign, designed to discourage texting while driving.
All Connecticut drivers are prohibited from using handheld cell phones while driving. All Connecticut drivers are prohibited from texting. Exceptions to the rule exist for emergency calls and calls made while using a hands-free device. If a driver is stopped for using a handheld cell phone, the fine for a first offense is $125 and a second offense is a fine of $250 and subsequent offenses will cost the offender $400. The fines for texting are $100, $150, and $200 for first, second, and third offenders.
If a teen driver is ticketed for using a cell phone or text messaging the following penalties will be applied - First Offense: 30 day license suspension and a $125 license restoration fee plus court fines. Second and all subsequent offenses: a 6 month suspension or until the teen driver reaches the age of 18, whichever is longer. There is also a $125 license restoration fee, plus court fines.
What is permissible then for adults and teens over the age of 18?
- Abstinence (don't use a cell phone while driving)
- Speaker phone
- Use a bluetooth wireless device
- Use a wired headset
- Install a car kit
It Can Wait!